top of page
378 West Church Street
This exquisite Georgian mansion was designed by Pierce & Bickford architects in 1898 for Mrs. Kate M. Gillett, widow of Solomon L. Gillett. The house was designed as a Victorian-influenced replica of the Wadsworth Longfellow House in Cambridge, Massachusetts. It is the only one of five copies of the Longfellow house that are still standing, and arguable the most ornate. Solomon L. Gillett was the land commissioner and assistant treasurer of the Elmira Williamsport Railroad, later becoming treasurer of the Elmira, Canandaigua, & Niagara Falls Railroad, and vice president of Chemung Canal bank. In the 1850's Gillett served as the Village President of Elmira. He Invested in Elmira's Civil War prosperity by being among the first stockholders in the Elmira Woolen Mills, and the Elmira Rolling Mill. Mr. Gillett died in 1893, and his second wife Kate had the house built in 1898, where she lived until her death in 1923. In 1945, the house was converted to doctors offices.
We meticulously restored this historic mansion in 2013, converting it from medical offices to four luxury apartments; two 1-bedrooms and two 2-bedrooms. Each unit features two completely unique and ornate fireplaces, spacious rooms, wooden window blinds, and authentic period lighting fixtures. The brand-new spacious bathrooms feature marble floors, subway tile walls, large custom vanity, and Jacuzzi bathtubs. The designer kitchens features floor-to-ceiling custom built cherry cabinetry, stainless steel appliances, granite counter tops, and marble floors. Each apartment sits just off from the building's awe-inspiring grand foyer and staircase, boasting gorgeous, intricate woodwork, a massive stained glass window at the landing, and commanding arches framing the upper hallway. Additional amenities and utilities at this building include central climate control, TV & internet service, laundry in each unit, off-street parking, water, sewer, and trash collection.
bottom of page