Welcome to our Properties page! Here you can browse though highlights of our historic properties.
389-399 W. Water Street
391- Four 2-bed Units + The Finger Lakes House 395- Six 2-bed Units 399- Six 2-bed Units
Laundry in each unit, Off-Street Parking, Water, Sewer, Trash Collection
The Water Street Rowhomes were built in the Second Empire style by Jackson Richardson for the management employees of his Richardson Shoe Company in 1877. They are built of shale brick furnished by J Phillip Weyer, who manufactured the bricks in his kilns on Newtown Creek on the east side of Elmira. They were among the first structures in Elmira to have both running water and artificial gas that furnished heat and light. The Richardson Shoe factory was located at the corner of Market Street and Railroad Avenue, and at its height produced roughly 1600 pairs of shoes and boots daily.
When we purchased this row of properties in 2011 they were in a state of severe disrepair, and had been vacant for many years. While it was unfortunate that so little of its original features were still intact, it allowed us to build brand new state-of-the-art apartments, with either original or recreated crown moldings, window and door frames, brick patterns, and high ceilings to give these otherwise very modern apartments a touch of old world grandeur. The modern kitchens feature granite countertops, stainless steel appliances, and contemporary cabinetry. The bathrooms feature large tubs, tiled floors and walls, and lots of storage space. Other features of these buildings include maple hardwood floors throughout, exposed brick & unique light fixtures, spacious master bedrooms, and unrivaled views of the Chemung River from each apartment's large back deck.
416 W. Water Street
6 apartments, 1-bed each
Laundry Center, Off-Street Parking, Water, Sewer, Garbage
This house was built in 1850 and had many alterations done in the later part of the 19th century. During this time, it was occupied by a series of lawyers and local politicians until 1972, when it was converted to six apartments.
We purchased this property in 2017, and gave it a new roof and fresh paint job. The apartments in this building vary greatly in layout, and we've been slowly renovating one unit at a time as they become available. Some other features include maple hardwood flooring, French doors, built-in storage, a large front porch, and ample off-street parking.
524 W. Water Street
9 apartments, 1- bed each
Laundry Center, Heat, Off-Street Parking, Water, Sewer, Garbage
This house was built in 1887 for Judge Frederic Collin. He was a prominent Elmira attorney, president of the Board of Education, Mayor of the City of Elmira, Associate Judge of the Court of Appeals, and later an official referee in the state courts. He lived in the house until his death in 1939, when the property was transferred to Mrs. Mary Batty, who operated the building as the Glendale Sanitarium until 1973, when it was converted to nine apartments.
We purchased this property in 2010, and its features include hardwood and laminate flooring, updated kitchens and bathrooms, a large center hallway and grand staircase, and a large front porch.
527 W. Water Street
2 apartments, 2 bed each
Laundry in each unit, Off-Street Parking, Water, Sewer, Garbage
This house was built in 1860, and the city atlas in 1865 shows it belonging to a Miss Bradley. In 1873, she was boarding with Miss. Anna North down the street at 351 W. Water, and by 1874, Miss North was residing at this house with Miss Bradley, where they lived until 1890. The house had several more owners until 1930 when it was converted to two apartments.
We purchased this property in 2010, and it features hardwood and laminate flooring, kitchens with new oak cabinetry and updated appliances, tile floor bathrooms with new tubs and cherry vanities, as well as decorative fireplaces, and a huge backyard.
529 1/2 W. Water Street
2 apartments, 2 bed each
Laundry in each unit, Off-Street Parking, Water, Sewer, Garbage
This house was built on the original site of the stables of 529 W. Water Street in 1930 by the Bacorn Family, who had just finished building their new apartment house next door at 531 W. Water Street. It was initially a single family home, but was soon converted in 1934 to two apartments.
We purchased this property in 2015, and gave it a complete renovation. Its unique location at the rear of the property gives it great privacy and the River Levee Trail just beyond the backyard. It features unique designer kitchens with custom cabinetry, oak moldings, trim, and window casings, and built-in storage. The second floor apartment also features a beautiful view of the Chemung River from its kitchen. In addition to its porch, this house also boasts a unique porte-cochère, providing covered parking to one car.
529 W. Water Street
6 apartments, one studio, four 1-bed, one 2-bed
Off-Street Parking, Water, Sewer, Garbage
This building was originally built as a two story home in 1865 for Mr. Hamlin of Hamlin Rice & Dry Goods. The house was sold in 1876 to a J.S. Smith, and again in 1896 to Marenus S. Elston, who owned a creamery at 242 W. Water Street. In 1919, the third story and side stairwell were added and the house was converted to three apartments, and then to six apartments in 1935.
We purchased this property in 2010, and it features restored hardwood floors, sunny rooms, updated kitchens and bathrooms, and several of the units contain unique built-in storage.
531 W. Water Street
9 apartments, five 2-bed, four studio
Laundry Center, Off-Street Parking, Heat, Water, Sewer, Garbage
This Spanish-Mission style apartment house was built in 1929 by the Bacorn Family. It was called “The finest apartment house in Elmira” by Ruanesford P. Bacorn, son of the builder. It was originally built with four massive apartments, and a fifth penthouse apartment on the third floor, but was converted to nine apartments in the 1960's.
We purchased this property in 2010. The large first and second floor apartments feature hardwood floors throughout, stainless steel appliances, working fireplaces, wood-beam ceilings in the dining rooms, updated kitchens and bathrooms, and unique arched corridors. The studios feature sunny, updated kitchens, updated bathrooms, and refinished hardwood floors in the bedrooms. The unique penthouse apartment on the third floor features and updated kitchen with a huge amount of cupboard space, many built-ins throughout, a formal dining room with dormers, huge living room, unique light fixtures, large closets in nearly every room, and front and rear staircase for entry/exit.
This house was built in 1891, and its first occupant was Fenton B. Weaver, an insurance agent at the Robinson Building on Lake Street. He lived here until 1938, and the house was converted to two apartments in the 1980's. We purchased this property in 2009. So far, we've only remodeled the upper unit, featuring laminate flooring, and updated an kitchen and bathroom.
722 W. Water Street
9 apartments, two 1-bed, seven 2-bed
Laundry in each unit, Off-Street Parking, WiFi, Heat, electric, Water, Sewer, Garbage
One of the oldest homes in the city of Elmira, The Foster House, a stately Georgian-style mansion, was built in 1831 for Captain Samuel Partridge who was a War of 1812 veteran and served on the 27th Congress of the United States House of Representatives. The structure was constructed of a brick that was rumored to have been imported from England. In 1841, Captain Partridge sold the property to William Foster of Rhode Island. Foster farmed the land until his death in 1864, passing it on to his wife, and then she to their daughter, Mary, in 1870. During the Civil War, the Union Army used land from the farm to open a prisoner of war camp. The camp was nicknamed “Hellmira” due to the harsh treatment subjected upon Confederate prisoners. The Foster House also served as the headquarters for Union officers in control of the camp. Additionally, the property is believed to have played an active role on the Underground Railroad, as Elmira was at the time home to many abolitionists who helped escaped slaves on their journey to freedom. The property stayed in the Foster family for three generations before being sold in 1917 to a descendant of General Alexander Diven. The original building was a standard two story rectangle shaped home that included the four main chimneys. Significant alterations were made to the house when it was sold to Alexander Diven Falck, who served as president of Corning Glass Works from 1929 to 1941. It was in this time a full attic was added, as well as the large wings on either side of the house, and the large two-story columned porch on the back. Since 1963, the home has been used primarily as medical offices for doctors and medical administrative work. The inside was converted from a single family dwelling into offices through a series of construction phases—good for turning large spaces into smaller, more private work areas, but destructive to the original architectural flow of this magnificent, historic home. In most recent years, the house served as the Physicians Billing office for Arnot Medical Services.
The property was purchased by Capriotti Properties in April 2017, and converted to nine luxury apartments. The house had numerous walls constructed in order to divide up the rooms for individual offices and exam rooms, making it almost maze-like to navigate. Between removing the drop ceilings, taking down non-original walls, yanking out miles of office wiring from information technology systems, and fixtures being updated,we filled twelve 40 cubic foot dumpsters with debris! All of the windows are original, and repairs were made when needed. On the outside, The Foster House is sporting a new roof, a fresh coat of paint, and most of the woodwork and plaster detailing has been repaired. Mini split HVAC units have also been installed since only half of the house had air conditioning. The apartments throughout Foster House are each unique in the fact that they all have different floorplans. First floor apartments have laminate wood flooring and the second floor has maple hardwood flooring. The first floor has five apartments; out of the five, one has a single bedroom and the other four are two bedroom units and are, on average, 1,000sq ft. The second floor has four large units, each with two bedrooms. Unit nine is exceptionally unique since it is split between two levels using the second and third floor. The brand-new kitchens feature white Shaker-style cabinetry, granite countertops, and subway tile with glass inlay tiles for a stunning backsplash. Bathrooms feature surround tub/showers, tile floors, brushed nickel plumbing fixtures, dresser-style vanities, and a matching linen cabinet. The first floor apartments have a communal laundry room and each second floor apartment has their own washers and dryers.