top of page
Welcome to our Properties page! Here you can browse though highlights of our historic properties.
318 W. Clinton Street
The two-and-one-half-story Stick-Style mansion was constructed in 1883 for Horace French, a freight agent for Northern Central Railroad, and his wife, Ernestine (Redfield). After his passing, French’s widow remained in residence until 1906 when it was sold to Mr. Martin Doyle Marks and his wife, Elizabeth (Weale). Marks was Vice President of D.S. Andrus & Co., a piano sales and manufacturing company with a store located at our property at 114 Baldwin Street. Marks was known for his take-charge personality, truthful selling style, and community involvement through the Elmira Rotary Club, Elmira Business Men’s Association, Elmira Humane Society, and many other organizations. It was during Marks' ownership of the property that the prestigious architectural firm of Pierce & Bickford renovated the house. Sometime during the mid-twentieth century, the house was converted into a three unit apartment house, and in the 2000's was carefully restored by then owner, Elmira City Council Member Brent Stermer.
We purchased this grand home in 2016, and it contains two 1-bedroom units on the second floor, as well as an enormous, pristine 2-bed, 1.5 bath first-floor apartment. The large unit features bay windows, chandeliers, a completely remodeled kitchen, with handcrafted Amish-made cabinets, subway tile backsplash, stainless steel appliances, and a cozy breakfast alcove. The formal dining room features an Art Deco styled fireplace, vintage wall sconces, and built-in leaded glass china cabinet. Gas fireplaces, designer cherry kitchen cabinetry, and other unique historic features can be found all over the building. Covered parking is available for this property inside its massive carriage house, located just out back. All utilities are included in this building's rent!
320 W. Clinton Street
This large Queen Anne Mansion was built in the 1880's. We purchased this property in 2015, and it contains three large 1-bedroom apartments, as well as one spacious 2-bedroom. Each unit is completely unique with their own historic features, including fireplaces, patterned hardwood floors, and cabinetry. Some units have their own washer & dryer, and there is also a laundry center in the building. In addition to its interior features, the decorative exterior boasts several porches, as well as a garden. Additional amenities and utilities at this building include heat, water, sewer, and trash collection.
115-117 College Avenue
The house was built by Antoine Romer, a merchant tailor, as a double house in 1880. During the 1890's, Mr. Romer lived on one side, and Mr. Stewart Thompkins of Thompkins, Fassett, and Crocker , wholesale grocers, lived on the other side. By 1930, the building was called 'The Margareta'' with rented rooms. During the 1950's, it became a multiple-family apartment house. This is a nice example of the Victorian Romanesque style used with controlled exuberance for a private building. We purchased this property in 2013, and it has all sorts of unique features found throughout, including many ornate fireplaces! This unit contains eight 1-bedroom and two 2-bedroom apartments.
209 College Avenue
William Starks, a conductor, had this home built in 1850. He sold to the Covells, an early pioneer family, who sold to the Halls, another early and well-known family in Elmira. In 1872 Delos Holden, a wholesale grocer, purchased the house. In 1881 Olivia Langdon Clemens held a $5000 mortgage on the house. The house sold in 1881 to George Dickinson, a retail grocer, who owned, at that time the second oldest grocery house, established in 1857, in the city. In 1918 the property was sold to Charles E. Young, a lumberman and businessman. The house has remained in the family since that time and is now owned by Charles Young's grandson, Robert Young Smith. We purchased this property in 2016.
312 Columbia Street
This deceptively large Italianate home was built in 1876. In 1890, Daniel Rice, of D.O. Rice and Son, groceries at 101 E. Church Street. By 1899, Mr. Rice owned the Rice-Darby Co., manufacturers of Darby's Rose Cerate at 101 E. Church St. In 1900, the house is not listed in the City Directory, and it may be assumed that at this time extensive alterations took place, including the stuccoing, which was very fashionable from 1900-1910. The house was converted into five apartments in 1921; two studios, two 1-bedrooms, and a large 3-bedroom.
We purchased this property in 2011, and gave it a thorough updating, almost completely rebuilding some of the units. The building features a laundry center, hardwood and laminate flooring, updated kitchen cabinetry and bathrooms, and decorative details throughout. All utilities are included in this building's rent!
110-112 Elm Street
The house was built in 1888 on property owned by Mrs. Elizabeth Meade, a dressmaker. From 1888 to 1900, William Richardson, a commercial traveler, resided in the house. From 1904-1908, Henry Hanson, general secretary of the Y.M.C.A. lived at 112 Elm Street. In 1908, the l10 address appeared for the first time, and other occupants included Dr. Francis Thorton, with the X-Ray Electro Medical Institute, Sarah and Emma Andrews, widows; Dr. Richard Gregory, physician and surgeon; Frank Rogers, freight manager; and Mrs. Elsie Marinan, owner of the Bon Ton Tea Room. In 1929 it was converted from a double house into four 1-bedroom apartments.
We purchased this property in 2012, and its four large apartments each feature a dining room, updated kitchens and bathrooms, hardwood and laminate flooring, washer and dryer, and lots of natural light. Additional amenities and utilities at this building include water, sewer, and trash collection.
114 Elm Street
This large Queen Anne double house was built in 1900. Early occupants of the Gray Street side included Benjamin Rosenfield, an employee for the National Cigar Leaf Co. from 1901-191l, and Hamblin S. Byran, secretary of the Elmira Automobile Club from 1918-1933. On the Elm Street side, occupants included William J. Richardson, the managing editor of the Elmira Telegram, an aviation Instructor, funeral director (Charles F. Hughes and Son, 3l1 Lake St.), and manager of Sonotone of Elmira.
We purchased this property in 2012, and completely updated it. Its four large 1-bedroom apartments each feature a dining room, new kitchens, updated bathrooms, hardwood and laminate flooring, and some fireplaces and historic built-ins. Additional amenities and utilities at this building include laundry in each unit, water, sewer, and trash collection.
350 Euclid Avenue
This unique double porched home was built around 1900. We purchased the property in 2011, and gave the building a full renovation. It features two 1-bedroom units, one with a unique glazed-tile fireplace, as well as an oversized 2-bedroom on the second floor with a sizable porch. Hardwood floors, bay windows, and new kitchen cabinetry are found throughout the house. On the outside, the house underwent a dramatic transformation, from a pale monochrome green to a decorative Painted Lady welcoming you to Euclid Avenue. Additional amenities and utilities at this building include laundry in each unit, water, sewer, and trash collection.
328 W. First Street
This massive three story Italianate was built in 1860 for George Pratt and his family. Mr. Pratt was the City Recorder in 1861. Mark Twain was a frequent visitor and dinner guest of the Pratt family, who owned the home until 1941.
We purchased this property in 2012, and it contains four large 1-bedroom apartments, as well as one over-sized studio. The property boasts hardwood flooring throughout, a mix of historic and new kitchen cabinetry, lots of natural light, and ample unique built-in features. Additional amenities and utilities at this building include laundry in each unit, water, sewer, and trash collection.
371 W. First Street
This classic Queen Anne was built in 1898. From 1900 to 1905, Harry Beardsley, secretary and treasurer of the Elmira Water, Light and Railroad Co. lived here. Other occupants have included commercial travelers, widows, an employee of the Willys Morrow Co., a representative of the Armstrong Auto Supply Co., a salesman for the Ward LaFrance Truck Co., employee of the J. C. McCarthy & Sons, marble and granite workers, and a teacher. In 1930, it was converted into 8 apartments; two studios, five 1-bedrooms, and one 2-bedroom, each of which were gutted and rebuilt in 2008.
We purchased this property in 2014, and it features new hardwood flooring throughout, new kitchens with tile floors, granite countertops, and stainless steel appliances, new bathrooms, and a washer/dryer unit in each apartment. Additional amenities and utilities at this building include off-street parking, heat, water, sewer, and trash collection.
373 W. First Street
This Queen Anne double-house was built in 1890. During the 1940's, this house was converted into four apartments. Occupants of this double house worked as draughtsman for the Bridge Co., manager of the R. G. Dun & Co., traveling representatives for the Star-Gazette, clerk for the American Sales Book Co., conductor for the Pennsylvania Railroad, employee of the Eclipse, employee for the Pennsylvania Railroad and a state inspector.
We purchased this property in 2014 in a state of severe disrepair. We rebuilt nearly the entire house, boasting four brand new large 1-bedroom apartments, each featuring new oak kitchen cabinetry and tile backsplash, new white bathroom cabinetry, and historic details preserved wherever possible. Additional amenities and utilities at this building include laundry in each unit, off-street parking, water, sewer, and trash collection.
375-377 W. First Street
These row houses were constructed of an early type of glazed building block with red brick detailing, in 1900 for a Mr. Estabrook. Architecturally, these row houses are the only examples of its kind with glazed block materials, in Elmira.
We purchased this property in 2014, and each of its four classic townhouses feature three bedrooms, original tin ceilings, updated kitchens with granite countertops, oak and white cabinetry, and stainless steel appliances, as well as a double living room, dining room, updated bathroom, laundry room, full basement, and front porch. Additional amenities and utilities at this building include off-street parking, water, sewer, and trash collection.
381 W. First Street
This house was built in 1896 for Thomas O'Brien. The property remained in the O'Brien family
until 1950 when it was sold by the widow of James O'Brien. James O'Brien worked from 1900-1925 for the city as a street car conductor, driver for the Elmira Fire Department, hoseman for the Elmira Fire Department, and a firefighter.
We purchased this property in 2014. Its two apartments each feature two bedrooms, a living room, dining room, laundry room, hardwood flooring, as well as updated kitchens and bathrooms. Additional amenities and utilities at this building include off-street parking, water, sewer, and trash collection.
bottom of page